Sinchon Campus, College of Science, Mathematics Major
- The Undergraduate Program
The department of mathematics at Yonsei University, which has its roots in Kyungshin College (경신학교 대학부 이과) founded in 1915, has been providing diverse services in the areas of advanced science & technology and many major fields of mathematics for over 100 years.Over the years, the undergraduate program has undergone many changes. In particular, since the College of Science started its single-major policy (단일학부제) in 1996, undergraduate freshmen students have been able to experience a diverse range of academic disciplines before finally deciding their majors. Undergraduate students can choose their majors after successfully completing 4 semesters of study. Our department currently has 18 faculty members delivering in-depth education in major areas of mathematics including mathematical logic, algebra, number theory, analysis, geometry, topology, probability & statistics. Furthermore, aiming to provide learning opportunities for students, we regularly host summer/winter school programs focused on selected themes in mathematics. In order to encourage students to experience a diverse range of disciplines and thereby broaden their perspectives, we are also encouraging students to take non-mathematics courses. In particular, our department has begun acknowledging the credits of some of the non-mathematics major courses since 1998. A countless number of students have graduated from our department since 1919, and they are playing active roles in all areas throughout academic and industrialsectors. Our department is nowadays internationally recognized as an academic spot producing world class level scholars actively working in various areas of mathematics. It also is worthwhile to note our graduates’ growing roles in computer and financial industry. And their roles are expected to expand to even broader areas in industry and technology as the demand for high quality mathematicians is increasing ever more rapidly.

1915년 경신(儆新)학교 대학부 이과에 뿌리를 둔 연세대학교 수학과는 첨단 과학 기술
분야의 기초와 수학의 여러 중심분야에 100년 넘게 다양한 서비스를 제공하여 왔다. 그
동안 학사과정에 여러 가지 변화가 있어왔으며, 특히 1996년부터 이과대학 단일학부제
실시로 학부 신입생들은 전공을 선택하기 전 여러 가지 학문분야를 접할 수 있게 되었다.
4학기 이수 후 수학 전공을 선택할 수 있는데 수학 전공은 수리논리, 대수학, 정수론, 
해석학, 기하학, 위상수학, 확률 및 통계, 금융수학 등 수학의 중심 분야를 18명의 교수진이
심도 있는 교육을 제공하고 있다. 또, 학생들의 폭넓은 교육의 기회를 제공하기 위해 여름
방학과 겨울 방학에 수학의 재미있는 분야들을 선정하여 학술 프로그램을 실시하고 있다.
학생들이 다양한 학문 분야를 접하고 보다 폭넓은 시야를 가지게 하기 위하여 다른 전공
과목들도 수강하는 것을 장려하고 있고, 특히 타 전공 과목들 중 일부를 수학 전공과목으로
1998년부터 인정하기 시작하였다. 1919년 첫 졸업생이 배출된 이래 수많은 졸업생들이
배출되어 왔고, 이들은 학계와 산업계 전 분야에서 활발한 활동을 하여왔다. 특히, 최근
컴퓨터와 금융산업 쪽으로의 진출이 괄목할만하다. 산업의 고도화로 고급수학인력의 수요가
급증하고 있어 보다 폭넓은 분야로의 진출이 기대된다.

- The Graduate Program
The department of mathematics at Yonsei graduate school started its M.S. degree program and Ph.D. degree program in 1950 and 1961 respectively, and has produced over 700 M.S. graduates and over 100 Ph.D. graduates ever since. Today our department is recognized as a world class education and research institution. This is a fruition of our endeavors aiming to become an international level department since 1995 when Yonsei was selected by the Ministry of Education of Korea as a graduate-school-oriented university. The following is a rough list of research topics being investigated by our faculty according to research areas.

연세대학교 대학원 수학과는 1950년에 석사과정과 1961년에 박사과정을 개설한
이래 지금까지 석사 700여명과 박사 100여명 이상을 배출하였고, 한국수학교육의
 중추적 역할을 하고 있다. 특히 1995년에 교육부에 의해서 대학원 중심대학으로
 선정된 이래 국제적인 수준의 교육·연구기관으로 도약하고 있다.